U is for the University of Texas Ulcer Classification

July 25, 2023

The University of Texas Ulcer Classification is a descriptive system to classify foot ulcers:

The grades:

Grade 0: Pre- or post-ulcerative site (epithelialized wound)
Grade 1: Superficial wound, not involving tendon, capsule, or bone
Grade 2: Wound is penetrating to tendon or capsule
Grade 3: Wound is penetrating bone or joint

The stages within each wound grade:

Stage A: Clean wounds (no infection, no ischemia)
Stage B: Nonischemic, infected wounds
Stage C: Ischemic, noninfected wounds
Stage D: Ischemic and infected wounds (both present)


Comments are closed.